Cheer Du Jour

A little cheer to forget your troubles, and better yet, to toast with a glass of bubbles!

Mardi Gras – Feb 12

on February 10, 2013

Mardi Gras Parade, New Orleans, Louisiana  (LOC)New Orleans: Parade on Canal Street the weeken...English: King cake purchased from Rouses in Ho...mardi grasMGD89CathedralFeathers

Laissez les bon temps roulez! (Let the good times roll!)

Fat Tuesday is the grand finale of Carnival season, which began on January 6th. For some, it is the last day to be gluttonous until the Easter Bunny makes his rounds. For others, like myself, it is a great excuse to eat pączkis and King Cake (and while on a sugar high, pile on the purple, green and gold beads). The festive fun takes place around the world, such as: Carnival (Brazil) Carnevale (Italy), and Fasching (Germany). The exact origin(s) of this merry-making is not clear, but various celebrations of the coming spring have been celebrated for a very long time. Click here to read about Isidis Navigium (Festival of Isis), held to grant Isis’s blessings to sailors as the season opened, with processions of costumed participants. Click here to read about the Venetian origin of Mardi Gras, arranged to grant “one last blast of tourism” (Parzen 2012) before those visitors would choose to give up eating meat for a period. To look at modern celebrations, take an armchair trip to New Orleans via the live webcams Jackson Square cam or the Parade cam.

I tried this king cake recipe today, and it turned out perfectly. The only tweaks I made were to add a teaspoon of vanilla to the cream cheese mixture, and I divided the dough into two pieces to make it more manageable (each rectangle being 6″ x 15″). Delish dish to laissez les bon temps roulez!

Related articles

2 responses to “Mardi Gras – Feb 12

  1. Anonymous says:

    Thanks. I was looking all over for a great KC recipe…thanks Cheers

    • CheerDuJour says:

      Hope it turns out as well for you as it did for me! I had to scramble to find a new recipe myself this year. Being ever so organized (a foreign state to me), last year I filed my recipe in a special place (rather than shoving it in the pile of other recipes, as I always had in the past). Needless to say, it joined all those sneaky single socks that I know I will one day find. This recipe actually turned out better than the one I had before – it is very light and fluffy. Best enjoyed with a glass of champs, I think. 🙂

Please add to the Cheer!

