Cheer Du Jour

A little cheer to forget your troubles, and better yet, to toast with a glass of bubbles!

Happy Birthday Simon Le Bon!

on October 27, 2012

Happy Birthday to my very favourite singer and lyricist, not to mention book reviewer extraordinaire, Simon Le Bon. I won’t dwell on the sordid topic of age, and will try my best to make you believe that I was only three when I became a Durannie. For fellow enthusiasts, I’ll turn the clock back to 1985 with some of the Duran Duran trading cards I still keep stashed in a drawer.

Flip side of one of the cards

Shirtless Simon the Sailor

Shaken, Not Stirred

Classic Dance Pose

Love the Frosted Tips!

Awwww…

We fans have been accused of being, well, a bit obsessive. I have observed a few who are a bit, shall we say, intense…e.g. those who know what brand cereal the band members eat (how this was discovered, I shudder to think), the band’s preferred hotel in each city, and the precise mood of Simon at every backstage meet & greet. For my part, I must admit that I have purchased every album (including the special collections) they’ve released, and attended more concerts than I can count. My husband was a bit worried about the level of my devotion during their concerts at the House of Blues. We ate at the restaurant to get into the premium line, and stood in that line for hours before racing to get as close to the stage as possible, then standing another hour before the lights went down. We repeated that ritual for almost every night they played at HOB (which amounted to quite a few amazing nights!). At least now that I’m ever so slightly over 21, I could enjoy a glass of wine while waiting. I found a few snaps I took (from a disposable camera – remember those?) from one of the HOB concerts – I believe it was in 2001.

Simon Singing one of his Silky Ballads

After my Dash to the Very Front Row

Trouser Wowser

Encore – Note my lovely special “bracelet” clashing with my pink nails

For all the pleasure (meaning music and book recommendations, of course–what were you thinking??) you have brought to us, THANK YOU! Enjoy a very happy 30thish birthday!! This glass (ok, maybe bottle) of bubbly is for you.

Please add to the Cheer!

